Pemaquid Artists Paint Plein Air

Pemaquid Group of Artists will demonstrate their painting at Lighthouse Park on Thursday, July 18. Come and meet Jan Kilburn and our other artists!


Some of the finest art in the region can be found locally at the Pemaquid Art Gallery at Lighthouse Park, a little jewel of a gallery with a long history. The gallery, which houses works by 32 of some of the best local artists, is located in Lighthouse Park at Pemaquid Point.  There will be an opportunity to meet and talk with these painters on Thursday, July 18 from 10 AM to 4 PM at Pemaquid Point. Visitors will have the opportunity to watch painting demonstrations and talk with several of the members of the artist group. Refreshments and cold beverages will be served. 

The Pemaquid Group of Artists is one of the oldest art associations in Maine and is comprised of 30 permanent members, two guest artists and a number of supportive patrons. The group was formed in 1928 when a small group of local and summer resident artists from New Harbor sponsored a summer exhibition of their works. 

Each summer from 1928 until 1959 the group exhibits in a variety of venues from the Clifton Hanna Garage Hall, Willing Workers Hall and the Surf Casino to the Pemaquid Lighthouse. In 1957 well-known artist Gene Klebe was elected president of the organization.  Through his efforts and those of Alfred and Priscilla Dalmas, the current Pemaquid Art Gallery was jointly financed and built by the artists and the Town of Bristol. 2019 marks the anniversary of the gallery’s 59 years at the Lighthouse Park location and its 91st year of seasonal exhibitions.

 Today, the long-standing tradition of exhibiting works by local resident artists continues.  Artists residing year-round or for at least 4 months a year in Lincoln County can become members by submitting three works to a jury committee.  Jurying customarily takes place in early spring.

 Current juried members of the Pemaquid Group of Artists include:  Barbara Applegate, Debra Arter, Bruce Babb, Julie Babb, Stephen Busch, John Butke, Midge Coleman, Trudi Curtis, William Curtis, Dianne Dolan, Peggy Farrell, Sarah Fisher, Bill Hallett, Claire Hancock, Kay Sawyer Hannah, Kathleen Horst, Hannah Ineson, Will Kefauver, Jan Kilburn, Barbara Klein, Patti Leavitt, Sally Loughridge,  Marlene Loznicka, Judy Nixon, Belva Ann Prycel, Paul Sherman, Cindy Spencer, Liliana Thelander, Kimberly Skillin Traina, Barbara Vanderbilt, Bob Vaughan, Steve Viega and Bev Walker. 

 Gallery hours are daily from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.  For more information, please call 677-2752 or visit on-line at

Leave a Reply